Setup groups and users in FileZilla Server and connect with ftpes

Following my earlier post on how to Install and configure an FTP server, this post describes on how to setup groups and users in FileZilla.

Open the FileZilla Server console by clicking on the taskbar icon.

Choose Edit->Groups->Add


 

Create a folder on one of your drives called Filezilla. Create a subfolder called clients. After the group has been added in the FileZilla console, select the group and configure it as follows

The path will be F:\Filezilla\clients\:u

:u represents to automatically select the subfolder based on the login username.

H represents the Home folder

Eg: If you create a folder as F:\Filezilla\clients\sujeeth, then the client with username ‘sujeeth’ will be automatically be mapped to that folder and it will be that login’s home folder.

 

To create an Alias, Click on Add and give local path. Right click on the path and select Edit aliases. So when the client login, they will see a folder called website, and when they upload the files, it will be stored in C:\autopublish

 

You can set the Speed Limits and IP Filter based on your requirements. After you create the group, you follow the same procedure to add the users. Any user that is member of a group will inherit all the settings of that group.

 

After you have setup the user, you can connect using FileZilla client on the remote machine with the following syntax

ftpes://<username>:<password>@<host IP address>/

eg: ftpes://sujeeth:pa55w0rd@207.46.222.11/

You have to use ftpes protocol because you have configured the FileZilla Server to force explicit SSL as per my previous post

 

17 thoughts on “Setup groups and users in FileZilla Server and connect with ftpes

  1. Thanks, Great Help!
    but my further question is that can we use this to access ftp with no encryption as well.

    • Ofcourse you can. Just uncheck the “force explicit SSL/TLS” server setting. with FileZilla, encryption can be set at user level or group level or server level.

  2. Thanks for reply.

    You mean normal FTP service and FTP over SSL which has been configured by FileZilla can work together separately.

    But I am not able to access ftpes://:@/
    through windows explorer. Is it possible?

    Currently I am using ftpWebRequest class in VB.NET 2.0 to access normal FTP service but I have to access FTP over SSL through my existing code.

    I want to access this ftp server on ftp:// or ftps:// protocol from windows explorer and VB.NET 2.0 code. How can i do it ?

    Please help me.

  3. Thanks Sujeeth for great support!

    I have setup FTPS through FileZilla server and it is in active state but I am not able to connect it by FileZilla client or windows explorer. I don’t know where I am wrong with this but I followed your steps to configure it. When I try to connect it throws error like:
    Status: Connecting to 192.168.0.5:21…
    Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message…
    Error: Could not connect to server

    I am just testing on it and publising FTPS service on server and giving same IP for FTPs setup as of server IP.

    Can u help me where I am wrong?

  4. Hello Thanks a lot for the tutorials they are grate

    I am just having this issue when I try to connect from the client

    Command: AUTH TLS
    Response: 500 ‘AUTH TLS’: command not understood
    Command: AUTH SSL
    Response: 500 ‘AUTH SSL’: command not understood
    Error: Critical error
    Error: Could not connect to server

    If someone can please assist with this it would be much appreciated.

    Thank you

  5. Hi Sujeeth,

    I`m getting a similar error as Leon:

    Status: Connecting to 192.168.x.x…
    Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message…
    Response: 220 “Welcome to MyBookLive”
    Command: AUTH TLS
    Response: 530 Please login with USER and PASS.
    Command: AUTH SSL
    Response: 530 Please login with USER and PASS.
    Error: Critical error
    Error: Could not connect to server

    I did login with a Username and Password (is there another set of Username-Password that I should be using).
    Please let me know.

    • Hi Nikki

      The way i got around my problem I inserted FilezillaServer.exe in the windows firewall as well as the svchost.exe found in the %windir%\Windows\System32 as well as open the ports needed on the router and forward it to the server you can try that and see if it works for you.

      Thank you

    • The fact that you are shown “Welcome to MyBookLive” means you are connected. Are you using filezilla client to connect? Have you tried creating another user and test with that account. Also try disabling “force ssl” option.

  6. Sujeeth, thanks for the great tutorials. They have been really helpful in setting up Filezilla for our FTP needs. I’m having one quirky problem though and google isn’t revealing much in the way of help.

    When I use the url ftpes://[user]:[pass]@[myftpIPaddress] in my filezilla client, the connection goes off without a hitch. I accept the cert, connect, and then I’m able to transfer files, delete files, etc. However, if I try to connect via a windows explorer session in windows 7 using the same url, I get stuck in an invalid password loop. The server interface shows…

    USER: [user]
    530 SSL required
    PASS ******
    530 Login or password incorrect!

    I’m never prompted to accept a cert either, so I’m wondering if that’s part of the problem. I see the same behavior if I just try ftpes://[ipaddress] or ftpes://[user]@[IPaddress]. Any suggestions?

  7. Can you tell me how to setup remote management after I have configured the FTP server for SSL/TSL? I used the default port (14147), instead of the one listed (does that matter?). I have the necessary ports opened. I have set an Admin password. When I try to connect via remote management, I get the error “Error: Connection to Server Lost” What am I doing wrong?

  8. Pingback: Fix Filezilla Error Message 530 Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8

  9. Pingback: Fix Filezilla Protocol Error Wrong Port Errors - Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8

Leave a Reply

